Why do you play Yomi?

I’m shamelessly polling for a speech of mine. I’ve heard many stories about HOW people ran into Yomi. Now I’m interested in what kept you here.

When I was younger I used to love forcing my sister to play rock paper scissors(RPS for simplicity) with me. I say force because I seemed to be able to beat her 9 times out of 10. The fun didn’t last for to long because not many people wanted to play RPS seriously, and the game was kinda lacking in depth. At the same time I was frustrated by how most games I knew that could be played with standard deck of playing cards were secretly horrible. They either reduced into boring strategies or relied too much on lucky draws.

Yomi scratches my RPS itch something fierce and it comes with enough depth for me to gush about it YEARS after I started playing. My reason for playing is simply because I always liked RPS and Yomi is the best game ever* to focus on that dynamic. That feeling when you make a good read is intoxicating and it’s made sweeter when each decision has real weight behind it.

*I hear great things about fighting games but I have yet to go though the 1 year required training camp to reach the RPS part of them /s.

9 Likes

I tried to teach my older sister to play Yomi using the Steam version, but she ended up disliking how much memorization was “required” (even though I pointed out the reference cards that list all the moves and abilities for each character). Maybe if I ever get the physical Round 1 decks I could get her to try them when she’s in town… I suspect the online interface might have been part of the problem.

I want to play Yomi for very similar reasons to you, actually! I like trying to figure out how my opponent picks their options in RPS, but this is a much more substantial game and gives more reasons to pick one option over another than “I like Rock.” I haven’t been playing simply because I wanted to play with my family, and I haven’t been able to.