Necro Tech II: How good is it? What's the game plan?

I think Necro Tech II is probably one of the coolest specs thematically and it has some really cool synergies, however I’m not experienced enough to know how “good” it actually is in practice, or how to play it to it’s fullest…

Necro II units are pretty weak on their own, but when in play together, you can create some really awesome synergies, such as Bone Collector / Necromancer creating armies of skeletons for Skeletal Lord to buff, alongside a Corpse Catapault to punish the enemy for killing Skeletons. Wight needs no introduction (except to say it’s one of the few Necro II units that can be effective without relying on other units).

All of this sounds great in theory, but in actual games, if your enemy lets you safely get to 2, 3, or even 4 units in play (which you need to get those awesome Necro combos going), you’re probably in a pretty good position already.

With that in mind, how DO you play Necro II? How does Necro II stack up against other specs? What Necro II units do you tech first and what is your plan for winning the game with those units? Which units are must-haves and which are noob traps? Do you patrol with your Tech units or your Skeletons?

1 Like

There’s potentially a couple of ways to play it.

Necromancer/Skeletal Lord

I like using this build. Necromancer makes a lot of skeletons and puts damage out and then Skeletal Lord makes those skeletons worth something. Early techs of Bone Collectors become very valuable here because they will generate two skeletons on a dying swing. If planning on this build I prefer not to drop Skeletal Archery until later that way the opponent can’t prepare for it as well. Skeletal Javelineer is also good to keep around when going for this build because it’s a 1 cost skeleton card that will generate another skeleton on death. Summon Skeletons is also always good to keep around.