Matchup Database

I’m pretty new to Yomi, and was just watching @mysticjuicer’s Getting Good at Yomi playlist. In it, he has suggestions on how to analyze a matchup. I’m lazy, so I was considering writing a small website that would make it easy to do comparisons between any two decks (and hopefully get their relative attacks and throws in a nicely formatted comparison table).

Is that something that other folks would find useful? Am I duplicating work that’s already done? Is there any problem with making a list of all of the card details accessible in a convenient, machine-readable format?

EDIT:
Here it is: Yomibase

6 Likes

Go for it! This definitely hasn’t been done.

1 Like

I approve of that message!

1 Like

This did exist once, in a Google doc. I’ll see if I can track it down later.

2 Likes

It doesn’t look like the one I was thinking of exists anymore, sadly. The link has expired.
I found a less good version, but you’d be better off making a new one, as it only contained the base 10 characters and wasn’t formatted very well.

3 Likes

Cool. I’ve started already (but haven’t actually gotten to a point to actual value). I’ll post a link when it’s actually functional (and when I want to start crowdsourcing some combos/analysis, perhaps).

4 Likes

Alrighty, I’ve finished the first draft of the matchup database. You can see it here: Yomibase. It’s woefully short on data right now, though, and is pretty slim on styling. I’ll be working on adding more characters (and more combos), but I wanted to put it out there in case others wanted to add entries as well.

7 Likes

Nice! Can I suggest having the move lists sort by speed by default? Also maybe making it more obvious that you can click to sort might be nice, but I appreciate that’s probably part of “styling” and can come later.

2 Likes

I fixed the default sorting. And, yes, getting the headers to show that they’re sortable is on my todo list.

This is looking like it’ll be really cool, good work