News Shop
Events Chat

[LDT] ARMed_Pirate ([Law]/Strength/Fire) vs. rathyAro ( [Feral]/Blood/Truth)

EDIT: Updating Gryphon stats and thoughts.

@rathyAro Also, your buildings list Tower, but based on your actions and the money you spent, I assume that should be the Tech Lab: Blood, right?

P1T9


StartingHand Workers

STARTING HANDLawbringer Gryphon
Lawbringer Gryphon
Ember Sparks
Flame Arrow

WORKERS

Arrest
Bluecoat Musketeer
Porkhand Magistrate
Bird’s Nest
Lawful Search
Manufactured Truth
Spectral Aven

NextHand

Lawbringer Gryphon
Burning Volley
Burning Volley
Traffic Director
Building Inspector

Tech 0 card(s)
Get Paid - ($11)
Skip worker
Jaina Exhausts to deal 3 to Tiger, paying $1 for Lookout - ($10)
Mr. Inspector trades with Tiger
Recruit Lawbringer Gryphon; my base becomes flying - ($0)
Stash a card

Float ($0)
Stash 1, Discard 2, draw 2, reshuffle, draw 2


[B]Board Info:[/B]
[B]In Patrol:[/B]

  • :psblueshield: [I]Squad Leader[/I]: Bill of the Gates (1/6+a, Can’t attack; disable units damaged by this)
  • :psfist: [I]Elite[/I]: Melinda of the Gates (1+1/6, Can’t attack; disable units damaged by this)
  • :ps_: [I]Scavenger[/I]:
  • :exhaust: [I]Technician[/I]: Ardra’s Boulder (0/6)
  • :target: [I]Lookout[/I]: Lawbringer Gryphon (7/6, Flying, resist 2+1, obliterate 4)
    [B]In Play:[/B]
  • :heart: Jail HP: 3
  • Jaina Stormborne, Lv. 7 (4/3, Sparkshot)
  • Reputable Newsman (0/3, You can’t play spells or upgrades that cost $2)
  • Bigby Hayes, Lv. 3 (2/4)
    [B]Buildings:[/B]
  • :heart: Base HP: 20 (Flying)
  • :heart: Tech I HP: 5
  • :heart: Tech II HP: 5 (Law)
  • :heart: Tech III HP: 5
  • :heart: Tower HP: 4

[B]Economy Info:[/B]
[B]Cards:[/B]

  • Hand: 5
  • Deck: 6
  • Disc: 0
    [B]Gold:[/B]
  • Gold: 0
  • Workers: 11

[details=Thoughts][spoiler]
If Jaina’s alive next turn, it’s game: BVx2, exhaust, hit with Gryphon.

I only just took a look at his gold pile ($20!?) and thought harder about what Blood Tech II means. It’s a good thing I have Gryphon up to protect Newsman, but I should have put it in SQL so that it could survive double Glider.

Max Drakk to haste a Recruiter to steal my Newsman could be bad. Then plenty left over for Cal+Ferns, and the swarm takes out my heroes; at least they’d die. Bloodlust+Cal could be bad, too.
[/spoiler]

[/details]

You are correct. I really need to be more careful with this stuff.

"P2T9


Tech StartingHand Workers

TECH
Spectral Flagbearer
Spectral Flagbearer


STARTING HAND
Murkwood Allies
Behind the Ferns
Shoddy Glider
Shoddy Glider
Stalking Tiger (4/4)


WORKERS
Merfolk Prospector
Spore Shambler
Ironbark Treant
Tiger Cub
Verdant Tree
Forest’s Favor
Rampant Growth
Barkcoat Bear


NextHand

Behind the Ferns
Feral Strike
Feral Strike
Shoddy Glider #1


Tech 2 card(s)
Get Paid + float - ($20)
Quince - ($18)
Level up Quince 4 times to maxband - ($14)
Shoddy Glider to jail, Playful Panda to play - ($13)
Shoddy Glider #2 to jail, Shoddy Glider #1 to play, Mirror Illusion copies Shody Glider - ($12)
Shoddy Glider Illusion deals 3 damage to Lawbringer Gryphon and dies
Shoddy Glider #1 trades with Lawbringer Gryphon
Stalking Tiger to jail, Shoddy Glider #2 to play - ($9)
Calamandra - ($7)
Shoddy Glider trades with Jaina, Calamandra gains
Level up Calamandra 2 times to maxband - ($5)
Tech III - ($0)

Float ($0)
Discard 2, draw 3, reshuffle, draw 1


[B]Board Info:[/B]
[B]In Patrol:[/B]

  • :psblueshield: [I]Squad Leader[/I]: Frog (1/1+Armor) #5
  • :psfist: [I]Elite[/I]: Young Treant (0+1Attack/2)
  • :ps_: [I]Scavenger[/I]: Frog (1/1) #7
  • :pschip: [I]Technician[/I]: Frog (1/1) #8
  • :target: [I]Lookout[/I]: Frog (1/1) #6
    [B]In Play:[/B]
  • Rich Earth
  • Wisp (0/1)
  • Frog (1/1) #9
  • Frog (1/1) #10
  • Frog (1/1) #11
  • Playful Panda (2/2)
  • Quince (1/5, Level 5)
  • Stalking Tiger (jail)
  • Calamandra (4/5, Level 5)
  • Wisp (0/1)
    [B]Buildings:[/B]
  • :heart: Base HP: 18
  • :heart: Tech I HP: 5
  • :heart: Tech II HP: 5 (Feral)
  • :heart: Tech III HP: 5
  • :heart: Tech Lab HP: 4 (Blood)

[B]Economy Info:[/B]
[B]Cards:[/B]

  • Hand: 4
  • Deck: 6
  • Disc: 0
    [B]Gold:[/B]
  • Gold: 0
  • Workers: 13
    "
2 Likes

Arg. I feel like this was my game to lose, and that turn may have been it. I realized I should have put Gryphon in SQL only after posting. It would have saved Jaina. Alternatively, I could have broken one of your buildings, and in retrospect, breaking a building and playing no Gryphon is better than not breaking a building and only playing a Gryphon to die. I was hoping you didn’t get both Gliders in hand, which is a pretty slim hope given your slim deck, but possible.

P1T10


StartingHand Workers

STARTING HANDLawbringer Gryphon
Traffic Director
Burning Volley
Burning Volley
Building Inspector

WORKERS

Arrest
Bluecoat Musketeer
Porkhand Magistrate
Bird’s Nest
Lawful Search
Manufactured Truth
Spectral Aven
Traffic Director

NextHand

Cinderblast Dragon
Censorship Council
Flame Arrow
Ember Sparks
Flame Arrow

Discard

Lawbringer Gryphon
Building Inspector
Burning Volley
Burning Volley

Tech 0 card(s)
Get Paid - ($11)
Worker - ($10)
Recruit Lawbringer Gryphon - ($0)

Float ($0)
Discard 3, draw 5


[B]Board Info:[/B]
[B]In Patrol:[/B]

  • :psblueshield: [I]Squad Leader[/I]: Lawbringer Gryphon (7/6+a, Flying, Resist 2, Obliterate 4)
  • :psfist: [I]Elite[/I]: Melinda of the Gates (1+1/6, Can’t attack; disable units damaged by this)
  • :ps_: [I]Scavenger[/I]: Ardra’s Boulder (0/6)
  • :exhaust: [I]Technician[/I]:
  • :target: [I]Lookout[/I]: Bill of the Gates (1/6+a, Can’t attack; disable units damaged by this)
    [B]In Play:[/B]
  • :heart: Jail HP: 3
  • Reputable Newsman (0/3, You can’t play spells or upgrades that cost $2)
  • Bigby Hayes, Lv. 3 (2/4)
    [B]Buildings:[/B]
  • :heart: Base HP: 20 (Flying; not that that stops pirate frogs)
  • :heart: Tech I HP: 5
  • :heart: Tech II HP: 5 (Law)
  • :heart: Tech III HP: 5
  • :heart: Tower HP: 4

[B]Economy Info:[/B]
[B]Cards:[/B]

  • Hand: 5
  • Deck: 1
  • Disc: 4
    [B]Gold:[/B]
  • Gold: 0
  • Workers: 12

[details=Thoughts][spoiler]

[/spoiler]

[/details]

Good game

Not sure if I could have come back from you breaking my Tech II I would have just had to run out more frogs and go from there. Reputable Newsman on 2 put in so much work, behind the ferns and war drums were my two win cons I could never go to from just that one card.

"P2T10


StartingHand Workers

STARTING HAND
Behind the Ferns
Feral Strike
Feral Strike
Shoddy Glider #1


WORKERS
Merfolk Prospector
Spore Shambler
Ironbark Treant
Tiger Cub
Verdant Tree
Forest’s Favor
Rampant Growth
Barkcoat Bear


NextHand

Shoddy Glider #2
Spectral Flagbearer
Spectral Flagbearer
Stalking Tiger (4/4)
Behind the Ferns


Discard

Feral Strike
Shoddy Glider #1
Feral Strike
Behind the Ferns


Tech 0 card(s)
Get Paid - ($13)
Quince makes a Mirror Illusion - ($11)
Quince makes a Mirror Illusion - ($9)
Feral Strike boost, reveal 2 Pirate-Gang Commanders, play 2 Pirate-Gang commanders, Mirror Illusion copies one - ($1)
Suicide 2 wisps and 3 frogs into Bill. The Pirate Commanders deal 20 to your base when they die.

Float ($1)
Discard 3, draw 5


[B]Board Info:[/B]
[B]In Patrol:[/B]

  • :psblueshield: [I]Squad Leader[/I]: Frog (1/1+Armor) #5
  • :psfist: [I]Elite[/I]: Young Treant (0+1Attack/2)
  • :ps_: [I]Scavenger[/I]: Frog (1/1) #7
  • :pschip: [I]Technician[/I]: Frog (1/1) #8
  • :target: [I]Lookout[/I]: Frog (1/1) #6
    [B]In Play:[/B]
  • Rich Earth
  • Playful Panda (2/2)
  • Quince (1/5, Level 5)
  • Stalking Tiger (jail)
  • Calamandra (4/5, Level 5)
  • Mirror Illusion #1 (Pirate-Gang commander copy)
  • Pirate-Gang Commander #1
  • Pirate-Gang Commander #2
  • Mirror Illusion #2 (Pirate-Gang commander copy)
  • Pirate #1
  • Pirate #2
  • Pirate #3
  • Pirate #4
  • Pirate #5
  • Pirate #6
    [B]Buildings:[/B]
  • :heart: Base HP: 18
  • :heart: Tech I HP: 5
  • :heart: Tech II HP: 5 (Feral)
  • :heart: Tech III HP: 5
  • :heart: Tech Lab HP: 4 (Blood)

[B]Economy Info:[/B]
[B]Cards:[/B]

  • Hand: 5
  • Deck: 1
  • Disc: 4
    [B]Gold:[/B]
  • Gold: 1
  • Workers: 13
    "
1 Like

Not that it matters, but I don’t think your wisps can attack unless something is giving them more than 0 attack. Also, you only have one copy of a pirate commander (Quince maxband only triggers once). You can still win by suiciding your remaining frogs though

Shouldn’t there be a trigger for each pirate-gang commander coming into play? I didn’t see anything about 0 power units being unable to attack in the rulebook. Where can I find that rule? I did just notice that I didn’t say the second Mirror Illusion copies the second commander though, but that was the intention (that’s why I have 2 commander copies in play).

2 Likes

Re: 2 copies, yes you are right. I just read Quince’s maxband again. Feral Strike causes 2 separate instances of “a non-token unit arrives”, each of which gets copied by one mirror.

I don’t know where it is in the rulebook, but the accepted ruling is that something with 0 attack can’t make an attack. This matters most for -1/-1 runes, which can force a crippled unit/hero to stay in play until the opponent decides to kill it.

Can you link the accepted ruling or section of the rulebook?

1 Like

I hadn’t heard of this ruling either. There’s a big difference between “can’t attack” (like inactive Gargoyle or GotG) and 0 ATK (which means it does 0 damage when it does attack).

Consider midband Drakk+wisp:
If what you say is true, it has 0 ATK then it can’t attack, and therefore never gets the +1 from Frenzy, which only applies once a unit has been declared as attacking.
On the other hand, if I’m right, a wisp could attack in that circumstance as a 1/1.

Good game! That was a lot of fun!

@Bob199 rathyAro has it. (:

1 Like

Sorry, to be clear 0 atk is different than “can’t attack” ever.

Things with “can’t attack” (like Mr. and Mrs. Gates) can never attack no matter what.

Separately, things that currently have 0 attack can’t attack while they have zero attack:

  • An unbuffed 0/1 wisp can’t attack
  • a wisp affected by Frenzy 1 can attack
  • Tenderfoot (1/2) can attack
  • Tenderfoot with a -1/-1 rune (0/1) can’t attack

Sorry I don’t have source for this, but I think this is how every game I’ve seen has played.

Maybe link the games you’ve seen? We can start there to find a solution. I’ve never seen that ruling before, either on this forum nor the rulebooks.

To the rules forum!

Conclusion from Sharpo is that I am wrong and have apparently been imagining this. Sorry for causing confusion, and thanks for an entertaining game to follow!

1 Like