Halp, I've Plateaued!

Hey, all,

As some (all?) of you may know, I’ve been playing for a couple of years (since IYL 5?), and now I run a lot of tournaments here through the forums. However, I feel like despite playing regularly, my play has plateaued/declined in the past 6 months to a year. I think some, or perhaps all, of that is due just to not playing as much. But! I’m interested in hearing from other folks, long-time or otherwise, any of

1. thoughts on my play in particular, based on observations of your games w/ me
  2. particular training or practice you’ve done that has helped. I’ve heard (but not implemented) the idea of focusing on particular aspects of play, and working on improving just those, irrespective of your results (which feels hard when most games also happen in tournaments, these days). So, what are aspects of Yomi that make sense to focus on? Range shifts? Blocking more? Valuation (how do you evaluate that yourself)?
  3. other thoughts? How do you practice Yomi?
6 Likes

Ime the hardest part in yomi, where i struggled and seen other ppl struggle too (some never managed to overcome the bottleneck) is getting out of your comfort zone. If you watch your games, you’ll notice you have bad habits (VG: in my case i had the habit to play safe once reached the red zone.). Use the replay function to observe your playstyle, esp when you lost and overcome your fear to do the “bold”/“patient” move. If you struggle against a particular MU and you lack a real opp, even bots can help. Fight against the yomibot until you win regularly, then against the EX char. The OPness makes up for it.

4 Likes

What are the things that you are thinking about as you play your turns? Like, if you had to summarize where your focus was during the “pick your combat reveal” stage of the game, what things would you list?

5 Likes

I think my attention priority is roughly: