Card of the week?

I’m really interested in reading more strategic analysis and strategic discussion on this forum. There’s some of that so far, but not really as much as I would love to see somewhere down the line. I’m new to Codex, but I want this to be a game that I play for a long time.

What do you guys think of a “card of the week” type post, where we look at an individual card in a spec, and discuss how it fits in its spec, when it’s a good or bad idea to play/tech, what kinds of other specs it works well with, etc.?

I think this would be interesting because Codex is supposed to be so finely tuned that each and every card should have value sometime, but it may be hard to define exactly when or how to best use some cards.

What do you think?

That reminds me of a thing @Shax once did, then abandoned!

Yea, I was sad when Shax stopped posting those.

1 Like

I would love to participate in a thread like this. Breaking cards down one at a time is a great way to learn more about the game as a whole. Different perspectives reveal strategies you may never have considered on your own. I also think that by participating in a Card of the Week discussion, I could get away from some habits that I nurtured while playing other card games. Habits that are no longer useful when theorycrafting for Codex.

As an aside, I’m sure that if @StrixVaria decides this is something he wants to do, it will happen. No danger of this becoming abandoned.

To be clear, I don’t really have the game knowledge to add my own meaningful analysis yet. I would be willing to organize a thread for everyone to contribute their perspectives, though.

The format before was thread title as the card name, or a joke on the card name, card picture, then thoughts or anecdotes on how the card could be used. Each card got its own thread, we only got up to 8 or so cards previously, and cards were chosen at random.

From @Shax
Card of the day #1: The Higher Institute of Villainou’s Education