An odd rules issue

Hello. I am quite new to Yomi. I heard about it after having played Codex, and recently picked up Round 1 and the Steam version as well. I have played a little face-to-face, but none on the computer yet.

While looking through the FAQ I found a question & answer that has caused me a fair bit of consternation, to wit: Bubble Shield is odd for the purposes of mixup normals. This is bothering me for a couple of reasons.

1. It is not consistent. “Normal” is explicitly defined in the rules as being the set of cards numbered 2-10. Throughout the game normals, specials (faces), and supers (aces) are distinct categories (e.g. rules affecting face cards do not affect aces). The only mention made of special and super moves in the Mixup Normals section is to state that the rule does not apply to them (admittedly, only special/super attacks vs normal blocks are explicitly mentioned). If we take as given that Bubble Shield is odd, then why is it the only ace in the game which is odd for the purpose of mixup normals? If aces are odd, it should be impossible for knocked-down characters to block super attacks with even blocks.

2. It is secret. There is nothing in the rules or on any card that would lead one to the conclusion that aces are odd, nevermind that one and only one ace in the game is considered odd. The only mention I can find of an odd ace is in Lum’s blackjack (where aces count as 1 or 11), but this is a blackjack rule that has no bearing on anything outside of this ability. Literally the only way to find out about the odd Bubble Shield is to happen upon the FAQ, or speak to someone who has.

This might be bothering me a little more than it otherwise might because Yomi is not an inconsistent or arbitrary game. The rules seem to have been carefully crafted and balanced, and exceptions are well documented and explained.

I would welcome any feedback on this issue.

1 Like