[Strategy] Codex Roles P1 vs. P2

I’m by no means an expert at Codex, but I have a lot of experience with similar games such as Magic and HS and I think a discussion about Player 1 and Player 2 roles would be useful. These are more general strategies/advice, but the most important concept is to think about how your role will affect the game. If you are playing Mono-Red vs Mono-Red for example, it’s a completely different strategy whether you are P1 or P2.

Player 1
Your role is the aggressor. You dictate the pace that your opponent can play the game.

-Disadvantages-
First you have a major economic disadvantage. Over the course of the first 5 turns you will have at least 5 less gold than your opponent. This is a real downside and means your gold should be spent as optimally as possible to create good trades and apply pressure. Additionally your opponent will be on the defensive and can utilize the patrol zone bonuses better than you can. This means you could be farther behind on gold if they use Scavenger or they could be use more cards with Technician. Finally you’ll have to punch through a point of armor when they want to defend their heroes/tech buildings instead of getting resources thanks to Squad Leader.

Second your opponent will have the first opportunity to build Tech II buildings and therefore play advanced tech II units. This means while you get to attack first you will have some turns where your units are being outclassed - your tech I vs their tech II. This disadvantage is reliant on some variance - even if they tech in those units, they may not draw them on their cycle. Also if you can pressure them into going down to a 3 or 4-card hand and then deny them the technician bonus, you’ll make it more difficult for them to draw their tech. Ultimately the worst thing you can do is play too safe. If you play passively as P1 you are inviting P2 to turtle and tech up and this can lead to a lot of bad scenarios if you aren’t able to break their tech buildings.