News Shop
Events Forums

Is this illegal play?


#1

Greetings

I was thinking of a way to increase the chance of pulling two of Grave’s ultimate spell for instant win

I thought about having Law stash a value 3 card, exhaust to draw card. Surplus to get more cards. Of course most tech choices should be of value 3. Setsuki to get me 2 more cards.

But then I remembered the infamous smoker infinite :

Discipline , Peace , Finesse
A garrison, a drill sergent, and max finesse
Play smoker for 0 , get a card, target smoker with sergent. Repeat until you have your two ultimate spells and 4 more cards of value 3.

Infinite combo to always have access to all your deck!


#2

Nothing illegal about it at all. Would be great if you could set it up!


#3

The only problem here is actually pulling it off.


#4

Generally speaking, as a rule of thumb, if you’re asking “is this crazy idea illegal?” with regard to Codex, you have stumbled on a bold but totally legal gameplan that will almost certainly never work. But when it DOES…


#5

Strongly disagree.
My own experience has been that when you come up with a brokenly good combo, there’s a post somewhere in the rules thread that “explains” why things don’t work that way.