CAWS 2016: robinz ([Blood]/Feral/Present) vs. Legion ([Past]/Peace/Anarchy)

Hi @Legion - GLHF! This is my first time against PPA, so it should be an experience, one way or the other!

P1T1

StartingHand Workers

STARTING HAND
Mad Man
Makeshift Rambaster
Bloodburn
Pillage
Charge

WORKERS
Bloodburn

NextHand

Nautical Dog
Scorch
Careless Musketeer
Bloodrage Ogre
Bombaster

Discard

Pillage
Makeshift Rambaster
Charge

Tech 0 card(s)
Get Paid - ($4)
Worker - ($3)
Mad Man - ($2)
Calamandra - ($0)

Float ($0)
Discard 3, draw 5

[B]Board Info:[/B]
[B]In Patrol:[/B]

• :psblueshield: [I]Squad Leader[/I]: Calamandra lvl 1 (2/3+1A)
  • :psfist: [I]Elite[/I]:
  • :ps_: [I]Scavenger[/I]: Mad Man (1/1)
  • :pschip: [I]Technician[/I]:
  • :target: [I]Lookout[/I]:
    [B]In Play:[/B]

[B]Buildings:[/B]

• :heart: Base HP: 20

[B]Economy Info:[/B]
[B]Cards:[/B]

• Hand: 5
  • Deck: 0
  • Disc: 3
    [B]Gold:[/B]
  • Gold: 0
  • Workers: 5
Thoughts

What a strange opening hand. Normally you want one of Bloodrange Ogre or Nautical Dog in your opening hand with the red starter, or failing that at least a Bombaster. But no such luck, all are in my second hand. I only have 2 units, both of them relatively weak but with haste. I feel out of my comfort zone already, and that’s before I even think that this is my first game against the feared Past/Peace/Anarchy deck.

So what options do I have? I could spend all 3 of my gold (after playing a worker) on Bloodburn. He has no haste other than Nullcraft, so there’s no huge danger to this play - and it could be useful later for killing off Nullcraft. But that’s probably its only use - 1 damage per turn is not going to do much, and for 3 gold, as player one, with a deck that really needs to take the initiative early, it seems silly. There, that’s my worker decided.