TOPANDA Interview Series

At the request of one of our dearest, most beloved Yomi-playing androids, ntillerman, I’m going to be interviewing TOPANDA participants and putting the interviews up here.

First up is last year’s TOPANDA runner-up: Jengajam!

Fivec: Were you a board/card gamer before you started playing Yomi? If so, what did you play

Jengajam: I play a good amount of board games. I was introduced to Yomi at a university club. A lot of the other board/card games I like to play are hidden identity type games like Resistance and One Night Werewolf.

Fivec: Do you have a favorite? If it’s Yomi, I will accept two answers :smiley:

Jengajam: I go back and forth on it, but right now I’d probably say The Resistance.

Fivec: I, too, love that game, but it seems like the spies always win when I play. How long have you been playing Yomi?

Jengajam: I started playing in mid-2012.

Fivec: What characters did you play when you started, and how did your character selection evolve over time?

Jengajam: I initially planned on focusing on Rook, but whenever there were new free characters, I tried to play enough of them in QM that I would be able to use them in tournament if necessary. Pre-expansion, I probably played more Grave than anyone else. Nowadays, I mostly just try to counterpick other people’s characters in tournaments.

Fivec: Is there a distinction between favorite tournament-caliber characters and favorite casual characters for you? Who do you enjoy playing in tournament the most? Who do you think is your best character?

Jengajam: I would say that there is a distinction. For example, my favorite character to use casually would probably be Gloria, but I don’t use her much in tournaments. However, due to those rare cases when I do use her in tournaments, she is the character that I enjoy playing in tournament the most. My best character would probably just be the best character, so probably Troq.