News Shop
Events Chat

Rules Questions thread

If that’s how both players having a Flagbearer in play works, then I think so, yes. The alternative is that the ability is activated without being played by anyone, which doesn’t seem right. But then, Flagbearers triggering opposing Flagbearer’s effects like that doesn’t seem right either.

My personal take is that the active player proceeds as if the flagbearer’s werent there. I do not believe your own flagbearer is intended to force you to make decisions about your own units, even if there is a flagbearer on the opposing side. That said, Orpal’s maxband is a pretty narrow case for “opponent’s ability with choices made by active player” so I really dont have any idea.

I think that is the reasonable interpretation, yes. I’m only doubting it because the Flagbearer text is curiously specific. If it’s a mistake, it’s one that takes more effort to write than the correct version.

@sharpobject, your thoughts?

That is a shockingly good point. I can’t find anything in the rulebook or this thread that says Orpal’s maxband (or any other “triggered” ability like “Attacks:”) is actually “played.”

The only time “played” is referenced is in the context of playing cards and abilities in your own main phase. So, Drill Sergeant’s ability would be “played” but Bamstamper Lizzo’s is not, since it triggers on Arrival, not voluntarily.
That would imply that triggered abilities are never affected by flagbearer text (although resost and untargetable would still work, since they don’t reference “playing”)

1 Like

Another Orpal interaction question. If midband Orpal tries to sacrifice an Illusion (without Macciatus), does he target that Illusion and cause it to die, therefore failing to sacrifice it? My thinking is no, because I assume the targeting applies to the ability’s effects rather than its cost, but I have no solid basis for that opinion at this point… just my own intuition.

That is correct. Paying costs (stuff before the arrow) never :target:

Taken from the Sirlin Games Discord server:

3 Likes

Not what I expected, but makes sense! Thanks to all involved.

3 Likes

@dreamshade if you’re still updating the revised rulebook, this would be a good clarification somewhere.

If Rook with Two Lives is attacked with Overpower the excess damage doesn´t go to the “resurrected” Rook but to something else. But if I attack Rook with two units and the first one takes his first live: does the second unit attack Rook again with his second life or can/does it have to attack anything else?

And another question: If I assimilate the Bird’s Nest and have a Rook by myself: can I keep the nest in this case?

2nd unit does have to attack Rook. Unlike indestructible, two lives doesn’t exhaust upon lethal damage.

We can infer that you do get to keep Bird’s Nest in that scenario from this ruling…

If you use this to steal an ongoing channeling spell such as Two Step, but you don’t control the appropriate hero to channel that spell, it’s immediately discarded. — Sirlin, 03/11/16

… because otherwise there would be no need for the qualifying clause “but you don’t…” in the ruling.

2 Likes

Each unit attacks as a completely seperate thing, so Nekoatl is correct.

1 Like