Rules Questions thread

Question about the timing of teching and the 10 workers requirement. Normally we think of teching as done at the end of your turn, but in fact you don’t have to commit to it till the beginning of the next. I’m wondering how this interacts with it becoming optional when you have 10 workers. I.e., if you have 10 workers, and on your opponent’s turn they trash one of them so you have 9, does that mean you have to tech that turn or not? I would assume you would, since you don’t actually tech till the beginning of the next turn, but I’m wondering if there’s a ruling on this, since we often think of teching as occurring at the end of the previous turn, and if you think of it that way then you wouldn’t have to. Thank you!

1 Like