Helpful Article for Almost All Players

What makes the best player?
Recently, I have been talking to some newer players and giving advice on how to improve. I have been a very good player for quite awhile. However, I have not reached the peaks that only the very best have reached. This article written by Sirlin is helpful for all players at my level and below. The article tries to discern the traits that make a top level player.

After reading the article, I would like for you to ask yourself, “Do I want to get better?” If the answer is yes, “Which of these traits can I improve upon?” Finally, ask yourself, “Which of these traits do I already have?” Give yourself some credit. You have made it this far.

11 Likes

I am going to do a quick self evaluation based upon the traits mentioned in Sirlin’s article.

1. Familiarity with Tournaments & Deep Knowledge of the Game

This trait I definitely have. When I started playing this game, I grinded QM like a fiend. I played 1500+ matches with Setsuki. That set a solid foundation for my knowledge of the game. Then, I founded the IYL, so my familiarity with tournaments is extremely high. Check.

1. Love of the Game

Sometimes, I think f@#k this game. Then, I come back to the realization that I have NEVER played a better card game. I have a love/hate relationship with this game. There is more love than hate. Check.

1. Mental Toughness

I am a grinder. I have seen a few people lose match 1 in a double elim tournament and drop every time. That is not me. I have the longest loser’s bracket run in Summer Smash history. I never quit fighting. If I have a single pixel, I am still trying to figure out a way to win. Check.

1. Mental Attitude Toward Winning, Losing, Improving