News Shop
Events Forums

First games, first questions!


#1

Looks very easy to play and very hard to play well!
Will need some exercise…

I have a question about multi-color books:

  1. starting deck of one color --> + 1 gold on minor spells if you choose another hero to begin
  2. starting deck of one color --> bad combo with other colors’ further spells)
  3. +1 gold to the first tech building
    the penalty 2) is unavoidable, but 1) and 3) could be… what justifies to penalise the multi-color books? are there overpowered combos?

#2

I think I get what you’re saying, but let me clarify.

Multi-colour Codexes have two penalties.
The first is that the first Tech building or Add-on that they build costs 1 extra gold, and only the first time.
(For instance, if for some reason you built a Tower as your first building, it would cost 4, and then if it was destroyed and you built it again immediately, it would only cost 3.)
This one only applies if you have to different colours in your codex (neutral doesn’t count as a colour, so it doesn’t count towards this penalty).

The second penalty specifically relates to starting deck spells, and not hero specific spells, since they can only be cast by their specific hero anyway.
So yes, the second penalty is any hero casting a basic spell that is of a different colour to them (other than neutral) costs 1 extra gold.
This does mean that a neutral hero casting a coloured spell still pays 1 more.

Basically, Sirlin wanted all mono-colour Codexes to be viable always, so he specifically put these in place to prevent multi-colours from becoming totally dominant. It has definitely been shown that there are a lot of very, very strong multi-colour codexes, even with these penalties, and they would be vastly stronger without them, since early game gold is the most important gold.


#3

OK, I’m looking forward to discovering all of these multi-color codexes!

Thanks.


#4

3 more:

  1. If I have tech 1 and 2 and my opponent kills the 1, I can on my next turn build 1 or 3. But can I build both in one turn?

  2. are all -1/-1 (or -2/-2, etc.) effects runes, even if it’s not specified?

  3. Overpower: “something else it could attack”… does it mean “something else it could attack now that the other unit is dead” or “something else it could have attacked when it began this attack”*?


#5
  1. Yes, you can rebuild Tech I for free, and build your Tech III on the same turn. Building or rebuilding a Tech building only requires the previous one.

  2. No, they are only runes if it’s specifically mentioned.

  3. Overpower damage can hit anything it could attack if the initial target wasn’t there, so the former. Otherwise, a small unit in Squad Leader would stop an big unit with Overpower in its tracks.


#6

thank you!

number 2. and 3. are as I thought.

for 1., the rules mention “build A tech building”, that’s why I had doubt.