News Shop
Events Forums

CAPS 2017: EricF ([Peace]/Balance/Anarchy) vs. payprplayn ([Necro]/Blood/Law)


#1

@payprplayn - good luck and have fun! Let me know if you have any questions about anything.

[details=Player 1, Turn 1]Arrest
Building Inspector
Lawful Search -> Worker
Traffic Director
Reputable Newsman
[/details]

4 gold (4)
Worker (3)
Onimaru (1)
Building Inspector (0)
Discard 3, Draw 5

Scavenger - Building Inspector (1/1) - (your first building each turn costs 1 gold more)

L1 Onimaru (2/3)

Base - 20

5 workers, 0 gold.
Hand: 5
Deck: 0
Discard: 3

[details=Next Hand]Spectral Aven
Bluecoat Musketeer
Porkhand Magistrate
Jail
Manufactured Truth
[/details]


#2

Glhf. You’ll likely make short work of me. I haven’t been doing very well so far at pbp.

Player 2 Turn 1


[details=StartingHand Workers]

[spoiler]STARTING HAND
Graveyard
Summon Skeletons
Skeletal Archery
Poisonblade Rogue
Pestering Haunt


WORKERS
Pestering Haunt


[/spoiler][/details]

[details=NextHand]

[spoiler]Skeleton Javelineer
Jandra, the Negator
Thieving Imp
Sacrifice the Weak
Deteriorate


[/spoiler][/details]

[details=Discard]

[spoiler]Skeletal Archery
Graveyard
Summon Skeletons


[/spoiler][/details]
Tech 0 card(s)
Get Paid - ($5)
Worker - ($4)
Garth - ($2)
Poisonblade Rogue - ($0)

Float ($0)
Discard 3, draw 5


[B]Board Info:[/B]
[B]In Patrol:[/B]

  • :psblueshield: [I]Squad Leader[/I]: Poisonblade Rogue (2/1+A)
  • :psfist: [I]Elite[/I]:
  • :ps_: [I]Scavenger[/I]:
  • :pschip: [I]Technician[/I]:
  • :target: [I]Lookout[/I]:

[B]In Play:[/B]

  • Garth lvl 1 (1/3)

[B]Buildings:[/B]

  • :heart: Base HP: 20

[B]Economy Info:[/B]
[B]Cards:[/B]

  • Hand: 5
  • Deck: 0
  • Disc: 3

[B]Gold:[/B]

  • Gold: 0
  • Workers: 6

#3

[details=Player 1, Turn 2][spoiler]Bluecoat Musketeer -> Worker
Spectral Aven
Manufactured Truth
Jail
Porkhand Magistrate

Tech in a Tiny Basilisk and an Overeager Cadet
[/spoiler]
[/details]
5 gold (5)
Worker (4)
Tech I (2)
Manufactured Truth, making BI a copy of PBR. (1)
Building Inspector trades with PBR
Onimaru kills Garth, levels up to L3
Discard 3, rs, Draw 5. Float 1 gold.

No Patrol

L3 Onimaru (2/2)

Base - 20
Tech 1 - 5

6 workers, 1 gold.
Hand: 5
Deck: 5
Discard: 0

[details=Next Hand]Spectral Aven
Overeager Cadet
Jail
Building Inspector
Porkhand Magistrate
[/details]


#4

…and just like that, I’m already in bad shape. I forgot about MT, which make PBR really bad.
Player 2 Turn 2


[details=Tech StartingHand Workers]

[spoiler]TECH
Nether Drain
Bone Collector


STARTING HAND
Thieving Imp
Skeleton Javelineer
Deteriorate
Sacrifice the Weak
Jandra, the Negator


WORKERS
Pestering Haunt
Thieving Imp


[/spoiler][/details]

[details=NextHand]

[spoiler]Sacrifice the Weak
Nether Drain
Bone Collector
Deteriorate
Skeleton Javelineer


[/spoiler][/details]
Tech 2 card(s)
Get Paid - ($6)
Worker - ($5)
Tech 1 - ($3)
Jandra - ($0)

Float ($0)
Discard 3, reshuffle, draw 5


[B]Board Info:[/B]
[B]In Patrol:[/B]

  • :psblueshield: [I]Squad Leader[/I]:
  • :psfist: [I]Elite[/I]: Jandra, the Negator (4/3)
  • :ps_: [I]Scavenger[/I]:
  • :pschip: [I]Technician[/I]:
  • :target: [I]Lookout[/I]:

[B]In Play:[/B]

[B]Buildings:[/B]

  • :heart: Base HP: 20
  • :heart: Tech I HP: 5

[B]Economy Info:[/B]
[B]Cards:[/B]

  • Hand: 5
  • Deck: 3
  • Disc: 0

[B]Gold:[/B]

  • Gold: 0
  • Workers: 7

#5

[details=Player 1, Turn 3][spoiler]Building Inspector
Spectral Aven -> Worker
Jail
Porkhand Magistrate
Overeager Cadet

Tech in Disguised Monkey + Overeager Cadet
[/spoiler][/details]
6 gold (7)
Max Onimaru (2), make 3 ducks
Oni kills Jandra
Overeager Cadet (2)
Worker (1)
Discard 3, Draw 5. Float 1 gold.

Scavenger - Huey (1/1)
Tech - Dewy (1/1)
Lookout - Louis (1/1)

L8 Onimaru (4/1)
Overeager Cadet (2/2)

Base - 20
Tech 1 - 5

7 workers, 1 gold.
Hand: 5
Deck: 0
Discard: 5

[details=Next Hand]Manufactured Truth
Traffic Director
Reputable Newsman
Arrest
Tiny Basilisk
[/details]

[details=Discard]Building Inspector
Jail
Porkhand Magistrate
Overeager Cadet
Disguised Monkey
[/details]


#6

It’s collection time!
Player 2 Turn 3


[details=Tech StartingHand Workers]

[spoiler]TECH
Death Rites
Tax Collector


STARTING HAND
Skeleton Javelineer
Nether Drain
Deteriorate
Bone Collector
Sacrifice the Weak


WORKERS
Pestering Haunt
Thieving Imp
Skeleton Javelineer


[/spoiler][/details]

[details=NextHand]

[spoiler]Skeletal Archery
Sacrifice the Weak
Graveyard
Summon Skeletons


[/spoiler][/details]
Tech 1 card(s)
Get Paid - ($7)
Worker - ($6)
Garth - ($4)
Nether Drain, Oni dies, Garth gains 4 levels - ($3)
Max Garth, play Tax Collector from discard, take your gold. - ($2)
Bone Collector - ($0)

Float ($0)
Discard 2, draw 3, reshuffle, draw 1


[B]Board Info:[/B]
[B]In Patrol:[/B]

  • :psblueshield: [I]Squad Leader[/I]: Tax Collector (2/3+A)
  • :psfist: [I]Elite[/I]:
  • :ps_: [I]Scavenger[/I]:
  • :pschip: [I]Technician[/I]: Bone Collector (3/3)
  • :target: [I]Lookout[/I]:

[B]In Play:[/B]

  • Garth lvl 7(3/4)

[B]Buildings:[/B]

  • :heart: Base HP: 20
  • :heart: Tech I HP: 5

[B]Economy Info:[/B]
[B]Cards:[/B]

  • Hand: 4
  • Deck: 4
  • Disc: 0

[B]Gold:[/B]

  • Gold: 0
  • Workers: 8

Edit: Added Tech I HP, corrected Garth’s stats and changed “graveyard” to “discard” because this isn’t MtG, and Graveyard is an actual thing that units can be played from (but not where TC came from)


Casual what-if: EricF PBA vs payprplayn NBL
#7

So… I apparently did something stupid again. I really hoped to avoid this sort of thing during the tournament, because I know it’s not cool, but the mechanics of pbp are still new and awkward for me. Sometimes when I’m editing my spreadsheet, I’ll click “Discard and Draw” before I hit Enter to finalize the field I’m editing, and the edit is lost. I suspect that’s what happened on turn 2 when you killed my Poisonblade Rogue, but it’s also possible I just hit delete rather than dragging it to my discard. In any case, I’ve just realized that it seems to have disappeared from my deck. It wouldn’t have affected anything until this turn, so I can redo it if you like (probably the fairest option), or just undo the reshuffle and add it to my current hand in place of the last card I drew (My preference, if you’re feeling generous-- I obviously had a pretty good draw this turn, and I think I’m probably toast if I don’t get Nether Drain), or undertake any other remedy you and the tournament judge deem appropriate. I’m really sorry about this.


#8

Honest mistake mate. It sounds like it affected your turn 3 hand though (if it wasn’t in the deck), so you do probably need to rewind your turn 2 draw/discard phase and reshuffle to see if you were able to draw nether drain and/or bone collector with the PBR in the deck for turn 3.

I’m not an official judge though, I think @zhavier is


#9

Right now I’m forking my spreadsheet to do both options. I’ll post my revised turn as soon as EricF gives me his preference. You’re right that it affected my turn 3 draw, which is why I said redoing is probably fairest, but after having gotten lucky once (admittedly with some undeserved help, but lucky nonetheless), it stings a bit to have to dial that back and hope to get lucky again. Undoing the reshuffle and adding it back to my turn 4 hand represents a possible outcome of having done it right in which I did get lucky. I completely understand if my opponent doesn’t want me to have that advantage, but given that I’m likely DOA if I don’t draw Nether Drain turn 3, I’ll take it if he’ll give it. Another potential way to mitigate it without completely negating the luck I already had would be to put both PBR and ND into a turn 3 hand, and then draw the rest from the appropriate deck. That said, I’m totally fine with redoing it. I might even re-draw the Nether Drain, in which case I think I’m fine for the moment, with or without Bone Collector. Anyway, I’m the one who screwed up, so it’s my opponents prerogative as to how to fix it.


#10

It’s up to zhavier, since I’m not going to make an official ruling on my own game, but I think frozenstorm has it right (back up to the point of error, correct it, and play forward from there)


#11

We can wait for an official ruling if you feel it’s appropriate, but I doubt zhavier will side against you on this. It’s a shame, though. After a really rough first turn from you, I felt like I had a chance when I saw Nether Drain in my turn 3 hand, because most of the plays I forsaw you making involved Oni vulnerable to a ND kill. I have since redone the draw (but not the turn, yet) in a separate spreadsheet. I didn’t get ND, so I’m not optimistic about my chances in this game, particularly since you now know what I teched (a big advantage of not playing a hero turn 2 was that I could potentially be playing any spell in my codex turn 3, and had I not drawn ND, there’s a strong chance I wouldn’t have played a hero on turn 3 either, for the same reason. That advantage is now gone.) If you’re set on a hard rewind, I’ll replay my turn with the hand I drew, stipulating that zhavier will likely rule the same way. It is the most natural course of action, I have to admit, as much as it feels like a punch in the gut.

Edit @EricF: might I suggest that we dial all the way back to my turn 2, rather than turn 3? It’s bad enough not to draw the cards I need, but it’s made all the worse by having exposed my tech choices to you. Maybe it wouldn’t make a difference, but it seems to me that it might. We of course would be free to make the same tech choices, and I can promise you that if I do choose to go ND/BC again, I will use the same turn 3 hand I just redrew (without ND) so this isn’t just a ploy to get another redraw. In fact, since ND is the critical card, I’d even stipulate that if I tech it, I’ll make sure I don’t draw it turn 3 (by adding it to my deck after my turn 3 draw, rather than my discard before). You could likewise keep the same tech and turn 3 hand (and turn 3 plays, for that matter) if you wanted. I don’t know. I don’t want to be asking for an unfair advantage, particularly since I screwed up, but it seems like exposing my tech to you is an unfair advantage in the other direction… Do you think the knowledge that I have Nether Drain in my next hand will affect your decisions turn 4? If you can honestly say that it won’t, I rescind my request.


#12

As the organizer/judge, I’ve been slowly developing a set of precedents to ensure that all games can be resolved without regard to the specific amount/type of benefit gained.

My most recent notes are here (under “Nit-picky details about correcting game errors”): http://forums.sirlingames.com/t/tournament-codex-asynchronous-winter-swiss-round-8/1502?u=ericf


#13

I’m a little confused by number 2, which seems to be the relevant rule here, but if I’m reading it correctly, it means we only rewind my turn 3, and I have to draw a new hand. I was in the midst of doing that anyway, so here’s my new turn.
Player 2 Turn 3


[details=Tech StartingHand Workers]

[spoiler]TECH
Blackhand Resurrector
Skeletal Lord


STARTING HAND
Skeletal Archery
Poisonblade Rogue
Skeleton Javelineer
Graveyard
Hooded Executioner


WORKERS
Pestering Haunt
Thieving Imp
Poisonblade Rogue


[/spoiler][/details]

[details=NextHand]

[spoiler]Summon Skeletons
Nether Drain
Bone Collector
Deteriorate
Sacrifice the Weak


[/spoiler][/details]

[details=Discard]

[spoiler]Jandra, the Negator
Skeletal Archery
Graveyard
Blackhand Resurrector
Skeletal Lord


[/spoiler][/details]
Tech 2 card(s)
Get Paid - ($7)
Worker - ($6)
Tower - ($3)
Bigby Hayes - ($1)
Skeleton Javelineer - ($0)

Float ($0)
Stash 1, Discard 2, draw 4


[B]Board Info:[/B]
[B]In Patrol:[/B]

  • :psblueshield: [I]Squad Leader[/I]: Skeleton Javelineer (1/1+A)
  • :psfist: [I]Elite[/I]:
  • :ps_: [I]Scavenger[/I]:
  • :pschip: [I]Technician[/I]: Bigby lvl 1 (2/3)
  • :target: [I]Lookout[/I]:

[B]In Play:[/B]

[B]Buildings:[/B]

  • :heart: Base HP: 20
  • :heart: Tech I HP: 5
  • :heart: Tower HP: 4

[B]Economy Info:[/B]
[B]Cards:[/B]

  • Hand: 5
  • Deck: 0
  • Disc: 5

[B]Gold:[/B]

  • Gold: 0
  • Workers: 8

Edit @EricF I apologize again for the mistake, and I understand the reason it needed to be corrected the way it was. This is a tournament after all, so the games matter (insofar as a game of Codex ever matters). I am wondering, though, if after our tournament game is complete, you’d be willing to play a casual game with me with my original turn 3 in effect (and PBR added back in to my turn 4 hand, or something like that). This game isn’t shaping up to be very competitive, and I could use the practice of continuing a little deeper into the game with some semblance of parity. That and, frankly, I’d like to see how it would play out. I was happy with myself for making the Nether Drain call, because it seemed like it could bail me out of a bad opening, but a bad draw has now rendered a good call moot.

Edit 2: I meant to put BIgby in scavenger, but I entered it in my spreadsheet wrong. I’ll leave it if you like, but I would prefer it that way, and I can assure you that it’s just a typo: scavenger was the decision I made before my discard/draw, I just entered it wrong. In any case, If you kill him, it’s up to you whether I get a coin or a card. Compared to my previous error, this is basically no big deal.


#14

That’s fine - I’ll bifurcate the thread at your original turn 3, with PBR added at the bottom of your deck (which means you don’t actually re-shuffle, and have 4 cards in hand, and 5 in discard, I believe?)


#15

[details=P1, Turn 4]Manufactured Truth
Traffic Director -> Worker
Reputable Newsman
Arrest
Tiny Basilisk

Total Defense: 2, 3 // 4, 5
Total Attack: 5, 111, 2

Tech in Monkey + Moment’s Peace
[/details]
7 gold (8)
Worker (7)
Tech II Anarchy (3)
Tiny Basilisk (1)
Manufactured Truth, making Louis into a copy of the Basilisk (0)
Louisilisk trades with Bigby, you get a gold, since that’s what you wanted
Overeager Cadet trades with Javelineer
Onimaru trades with your Tower, your Base takes 2
Huey and Dewy poke your Tech 1 for 2 damage
Discard 2, rs, Draw 4.

Tech - Tiny Basilisk (1/2) can’t be attacked by Tech 0 units

Huey (1/1)
Dewy (1/1)

Base - 20
Tech 1 - 5
Tech 2 - 5
Spec: Anarchy

8 workers, 0 gold.
Hand: 4
Deck: 7
Discard: 0

[details=Next Hand]Disguised Monkey
Disguised Monkey
Moment’s Peace
Arrest[/details]


#16

Now that I’ve noticed this thread, I can simply verify that redoing T3 was the correct call. Carry on.


#17

As I’ve said, I suspect I’m toast here, but here goes nothing…
Player 2 Turn 4


[details=Tech StartingHand Workers]

[spoiler]TECH
Necromancer
Necromancer


STARTING HANDBone Collector
Deteriorate
Nether Drain
Sacrifice the Weak
Summon Skeletons


WORKERS
Pestering Haunt
Thieving Imp
Poisonblade Rogue
Sacrifice the Weak


[/spoiler][/details]

[details=NextHand]

[spoiler]Graveyard
Jandra, the Negator
Summon Skeletons
Nether Drain
Skeleton Javelineer


[/spoiler][/details]
Tech 2 card(s)
Get Paid+scav - ($9)
Worker - ($8)
Bone Collector - ($6)
Tech II (Necro) - ($2)
Drakk - ($0)

Float ($0)
Discard 3, reshuffle, draw 5


[B]Board Info:[/B]
[B]In Patrol:[/B]

  • :psblueshield: [I]Squad Leader[/I]: Bone Collector (3/3+A)
  • :psfist: [I]Elite[/I]:
  • :ps_: [I]Scavenger[/I]: Drakk lvl 1 (1/3)
  • :pschip: [I]Technician[/I]:
  • :target: [I]Lookout[/I]:

[B]In Play:[/B]

[B]Buildings:[/B]

  • :heart: Base HP: 18
  • :heart: Tech I HP: 3
  • :heart: Tech II HP: 5 (Necomancy)

[B]Economy Info:[/B]
[B]Cards:[/B]

  • Hand: 5
  • Deck: 6
  • Disc: 0

[B]Gold:[/B]

  • Gold: 0
  • Workers: 9

#18

[details=P1, Turn 5]Arrest
Disguised Monkey
Moment’s Peace
Disguised Monkey

Tech in 2x Gunship //even though I’m skipping a worker here, I’m also going to be way down on cards, and these are the only things I know I’ll want in my next cycle.

[/details]
Note that your Base is at 18 from having the tower destroyed
8 gold (8)
Zane (6)
Arrest Bone Collector (3)
Basilisk kills Drakk, Zane to L3
Level Zane to 4 (2)
Disguised Monkey (0)
Monkey breaks Tech 1
Zane, Huey, and Dewy break Tech 2, your base is now at 14
(skip worker)
Discard 2, Draw 4.

No Patrol

L4 Zane (3/3)
Disguised Monkey (3/3)
Tiny Basilisk (1/1) can’t be attacked by Tech 0 units
Huey (1/1)
Dewy (1/1)

Base - 19
Tech 1 - 5
Tech 2 - 5
Spec: Anarchy

8 workers, 0 gold.
Hand: 4
Deck: 3
Discard: 5

[details=Next Hand]Jail
Building Inspector
Manufactured Truth
Porkhand Magistrate[/details]

[details=Discard]Arrest
Moment’s Peace
Disguised Monkey
Pirate Gunship
Pirate Gunship
[/details]


#19

I’m calling it there. GG.


#20

As this is your first tournament, I think it’s best to think about the whole tournament as a learning experience. You’ll get a lot better at playing, and a lot better at using the spreadsheet, really quickly. But you may also get some harsh beat-downs. A single victory in your first tourney would be impressive. If you think of this as a warm-up for your next tourney, you’ll be fine.

Just remember to ask your opponents and spectators to point out alternative lines when the game is over, so you can see how they’d have played it out, and why. (: