News Shop
Events Forums

CAFS 2016: Castanietzsche (Mono Blue) vs StrixVaria (Mono Red)


#1

Hi @StrixVaria ! Good luck and have fun ! :slight_smile:
I haven’t finished my Round 2 match yet with jasonwocky, but in any case I won’t have more victories than you, so I believe I’m going P1… It’s my first time using the spreadsheet, I hope I won’t make too many mistakes ^^’

P1T1

[details=Secrets]

Discard : 5
Hand : Manufactured Truth, Reputable Newsman, Lawful Search, Traffic Director, Arrest

Thoughts : I’ve played this matchup many times, and Ioose almost everytime ^^’. As red is very aggressive, I generally can’t build a Surplus because I need an early Tower. This limit my strategies as blue, but hopefully Brave Knight and Scribe are good sources of cards. I plan to go to a Brave Knight + Onimaru gameplan with loads of spells. Elite Training is really better (IMO) than air units in this matchup because my units really have a 1 turn life expectancy. Go ![/details]


Get 4 Gold (4)
Worker (3)
Traffic Director (2)
Onimaru (0)
Discard 3, Draw 5


[details=Secrets]

Workers : 4 + Arrest

New Hand : Building Inspector, Spectral Aven, Jail, Bluecoat Musketeer, Porkhand Magistrate[/details]

Board:

Patrol:

  • :psblueshield: Squad Leader: lvl 1 Onimaru (2/3+1)
  • :psfist: Elite:
  • :ps_: Scavenger: Traffic Director (1/1)
  • :exhaust: Technician:
  • :target: Lookout:
    Board :

Base : 20

  • Discard : 3 + Tech
  • Deck : 0
  • Workers : 5

#3

Just to clarify: you’re going first because my random pairing algorithm put you going first (it takes into account how many times each player has gone first so far in the tournament, but not their match win/loss records).


#4

Thanks! Good luck to you too. Not sure when I’ll have time to take my first turn. It will be tomorrow morning at the latest.


#5

P2T1


StartingHand Workers

STARTING HAND
Bloodburn
Careless Musketeer
Scorch
Bombaster
Bloodrage Ogre


WORKERS
Bloodburn


NextHand

Pillage
Nautical Dog
Makeshift Rambaster
Mad Man
Charge


Discard

Careless Musketeer
Bombaster
Scorch


Tech 0 card(s)
Get Paid - ($5)
Worker - ($4)
Bloodrage Ogre - ($2)
Tech I - ($1)

Float ($1)
Discard 3, draw 5


[B]Board Info:[/B]
[B]In Patrol:[/B]

  • :psblueshield: [I]Squad Leader[/I]:
  • :psfist: [I]Elite[/I]:
  • :ps_: [I]Scavenger[/I]: Bloodrage Ogre (3/2)
  • :pschip: [I]Technician[/I]:
  • :target: [I]Lookout[/I]:
    [B]In Play:[/B]

[B]Buildings:[/B]

  • :heart: Base HP: 20
  • :heart: Tech I HP: 5

[B]Economy Info:[/B]
[B]Cards:[/B]

  • Hand: 5
  • Deck: 0
  • Disc: 3
    [B]Gold:[/B]
  • Gold: 1
  • Workers: 6
Thoughts

This is the most aggressive start I’ve ever seen from blue, and I can’t actually get enough stuff on the board to guarantee that he can’t hit me and can’t kill a hero. I definitely don’t want to give Onimaru free levels, and I really don’t want to go down on cards already, so this seems ok I guess?


#6

P1T2

Hehe you’re lucky I don’t have Manufactured Truth in hand lol

[details=Secrets]

Discard : Brave Knight, Brave Knight + 3
Hand : Building Inspector, Spectral Aven, Jail, Bluecoat Musketeer, Porkhand Magistrate

Thoughts : Brave Knight is very expensive, and if I get them the same turn I won’t be able to play them both. Nevertheless, I can’t play illusions (as I’m on a pump-up spells strategy) and Readiness might help me during the game. Brave Knights are very likely to never fall in my discard, and that’s very good as I plan to thin my deck as much as possible to play Art of War.[/details]


Get 5 Gold (5)
Worker (4)
Tech I (3)
Spectral Aven (1)
Traffic Director poke your Tech I

Discard 3, Draw 5


[details=Secrets]

Workers : 4 + Arrest + Porkhand Magistrate

New Hand : Jail, Brave Knight, Brave Knight, Reputable Newsman, Bluecoat Musketeer[/details]

Board:

Patrol:

  • :psblueshield: Squad Leader: lvl 1 Onimaru (2/3+1)
  • :psfist: Elite:
  • :ps_: Scavenger: Spectral Aven (2/2)
  • :exhaust: Technician:
  • :target: Lookout:
    Board : Traffic Director (1/1)

Base : 20

  • Discard : 0 + Tech
  • Deck : 3
  • Workers : 6

#7

I completely forgot about Manufactured Truth.

P2T2


Tech StartingHand Workers

TECH
Crash Bomber
Ember Sparks


STARTING HAND
Makeshift Rambaster
Mad Man
Pillage
Charge
Nautical Dog


WORKERS
Bloodburn
Pillage


NextHand

Scorch
Bloodrage Ogre
Careless Musketeer
Makeshift Rambaster
Bombaster


Tech 2 card(s)
Get Paid + float - ($7)
Worker - ($6)
Drakk - ($4)
Mid-band Drakk - ($1)
Bloodrage Ogre (frenzy 1 from Drakk) trades with Onimaru (Drakk maxbands)
Nautical Dog (haste and frenzy 1 from Drakk) - ($0)
Nautical Dog his your base for 3 (@17)

Float ($0)
Discard 3, reshuffle, draw 5


[B]Board Info:[/B]
[B]In Patrol:[/B]

  • :psblueshield: [I]Squad Leader[/I]: Drakk (3/4+a, Level 6)
  • :psfist: [I]Elite[/I]:
  • :ps_: [I]Scavenger[/I]:
  • :pschip: [I]Technician[/I]:
  • :target: [I]Lookout[/I]:
    [B]In Play:[/B]
  • Nautical Dog (1/1, frenzy 1+1)
    [B]Buildings:[/B]
  • :heart: Base HP: 20
  • :heart: Tech I HP: 4

[B]Economy Info:[/B]
[B]Cards:[/B]

  • Hand: 5
  • Deck: 4
  • Disc: 0
    [B]Gold:[/B]
  • Gold: 0
  • Workers: 7

#8

P1T3

[details=Secrets]

Discard : Boot Camp, Boot Camp
Hand : Jail, Brave Knight, Brave Knight, Reputable Newsman, Bluecoat Musketeer

Thoughts : My plan is to Boot Camp Spies to get 5 attack invisible units ables to harass his Tech buildings. Teching Boot Camp now kinda prevent me to change my mind and go Truth, but I really don’t need more Tech I.[/details]


Get 6 Gold (7)
Worker (6)
Brave Knight (3)
Bigby (1)
Traffic Director hits your Tech I @3
Spectral Aven kills Nautical Dog
Stash

Discard 2, Draw 3, RS, Draw 1


[details=Secrets]

Workers : 4 + Arrest + Porkhand Magistrate + Bluecoat Musketeer

New Hand : Jail, Manufactured Truth, Lawful Search, Building Inspector, Brave Knight[/details]

Board:

Patrol:

  • :psblueshield: Squad Leader: lvl 1 Bigby (2/3+1)
  • :psfist: Elite:
  • :ps_: Scavenger:
  • :exhaust: Technician: Brave Knight
  • :target: Lookout:
    Board : Traffic Director (1/1), Spectral Aven (2/2)

Base : 17
Tech I : 5

  • Discard : 0 + Tech
  • Deck : 3
  • Workers : 7
  • Hand : 5

#9

You can’t patrol Aven since it attacked. Also, shouldn’t you have 5 cards in hand? You had 5 last turn, and you only spent 2 (worker + Brave Knight), so I’m not sure why you only have 4 now.

EDIT: Oh, stash. Can you put your current handsize somewhere on your post to avoid confusion with stash? :stuck_out_tongue:


#10

P2T3


Tech StartingHand Workers

TECH
Burning Volley
Surprise Attack


STARTING HAND
Bloodrage Ogre
Makeshift Rambaster
Bombaster
Careless Musketeer
Scorch


WORKERS
Bloodburn
Pillage
Careless Musketeer


NextHand

Ember Sparks
Mad Man
Charge
Crash Bomber


Discard

Nautical Dog
Bloodrage Ogre
Bombaster
Scorch
Burning Volley
Surprise Attack


Tech 2 card(s)
Get Paid - ($7)
Worker - ($6)
Bloodrage Ogre (haste + frenzy 1 from Drakk) - ($4)
Bloodrage Ogre trades with Bigby (nobody present to gain levels)
Drakk kills Brave Knight (goes to hand, you don’t draw from technician since it doesn’t die), takes 3
Makeshift Rambaster (frenzy 1 from Drakk) - ($2)
Rambaster hits your base for 4 (@13)

Float ($2)
Discard 2, draw 4


[B]Board Info:[/B]
[B]In Patrol:[/B]

  • :psblueshield: [I]Squad Leader[/I]:
  • :psfist: [I]Elite[/I]:
  • :ps_: [I]Scavenger[/I]:
  • :pschip: [I]Technician[/I]:
  • :target: [I]Lookout[/I]:
    [B]In Play:[/B]
  • Makeshift Rambaster (1/2, haste, frenzy 1)
  • Drakk (3/1 from 3 damage, Level 6)
    [B]Buildings:[/B]
  • :heart: Base HP: 20
  • :heart: Tech I HP: 3

[B]Economy Info:[/B]
[B]Cards:[/B]

  • Hand: 4
  • Deck: 0
  • Disc: 6
    [B]Gold:[/B]
  • Gold: 2
  • Workers: 8

#11

he draws. it died. no matter if it goes to disc, hand or disappear (token).


#12

@EricF can you rule here? I read elsewhere on this forum that it works the way I said in my post.


#13

he would not draw only if said unit/hero was immortal. then ould it not die, but get sidelined. Right Ericf?


#14

P1T4

[details=Secrets]

Discard : Flagstone Spy, Flagstone Spy
Hand : Jail, Manufactured Truth, Lawful Search, Building Inspector, Brave Knight, Brave Knight

Thoughts : [spoiler]Ouch he’s really base rushing… Let’s prevent him to build a Tech II as long as I can.[/details]


Get 7 Gold (8)
Worker (7)
Tech II Peace (3)
Onimaru (1)
Manufactured Truth, transforming Traffic Director into Makeshift Rambaster (0)
Traffic Director destroys your Tech I, 2 damages to your base
Spectral Aven kills Drakk, Onimaru levels up twice
Discard 4, Draw 3, RS, Draw 2


[details=Secrets]

Workers : 4 + Arrest + Porkhand Magistrate + Bluecoat Musketeer

New Hand : Reputable Newsman, Boot Camp, Brave Knight, Jail, Boot Camp[/details]

Board:

Patrol:

  • :psblueshield: Squad Leader: lvl 3 Onimaru (2/3+1)
  • :psfist: Elite:
  • :ps_: Scavenger:
  • :exhaust: Technician:
  • :target: Lookout:
    Board : Traffic Director (1/1), Spectral Aven (2/2)

Base : 12
Tech I : 5
Tech II Peace : 5

  • Discard : 0 + Tech
  • Deck : 5
  • Workers : 8
  • Hand : 5

#15

Can you delay your turn until we get an official ruling on this? I don’t believe you should.


#16

Yeah ok I’ll redo my turn if needed np


#17

Sorry to be such a rules lawyer, but I’m actually pretty curious about the ruling anyway.


#18

No problem, I’m interested too :slight_smile:
In fact in all my precedent games Brave Knight was simply stuck into Squal Leader / Lookout zones, so I’ve never encountered this problem before :slight_smile:

Anyways as I teched poorly in any case I wouldn’t make any use of my whole hand. It’s a shame as Peace has also access to a 0 gold cost unit :slight_smile:


#19

EDIT: Actually i am not so sure anymore ?__?


#20

Sorry, legion was incorrect, Brave Knight uses the word “instead” which is why you would not draw cards from his combat death. The word “instead” is used on a specific set of cards that replace the death effect with something else, and thus don’t trigger death. The cards that don’t replace death are for example reteller of truths, which ADDS a step after death of returning to hand after resolving all death effects.


#21

Ok thanks ! I edited my post and redrawn cards consequently